top of page
Search

The Portsmouth Society Executive Committee

Updated: Apr 17

This is the information page about the Portsmouth Society and its Executive Committee

A shortened link to this page is rebrand.ly/psocec


Graham Newcombe - Acting Chair

Born, bred and educated (Court Lane Infants and Juniors, Northern Grammar) in Portsmouth until a working life in The Midlands called me away.


Returning after 40 years made me appreciate how much Portsmouth has to offer and inspired me to join the Portsmouth Society (and buy a PFC season ticket). Now seeking a successor after three years in the chair.




Fi Rosen - Secretary

I was born in Luton, Bedfordshire and grew up in Hertfordshire before moving to London.  My husband Martin and I discovered Portsmouth during a weekend away for a Hospital Broadcasting Association conference in the early 2000s and subsequently bought a house in Old Portsmouth in 2007.  I continued to commute to London for several years before deciding to take a (very!) early retirement and make Portsmouth my permanent home.  Since then, I have continued ‘working’ … as Secretary of the Portsmouth Society, Minutes Secretary of the Dickens Fellowship and now secretary of Portsmouth u3a, as well as serving on national bodies including the Prayer Book Society and the Ecclesiological Society.  I am a Reader at St. Mary’s Church, Fratton.  

 

My passions, apart from anything to do with the city, include architecture, history, reading and always being ready to learn something new.  Oh, and cats!  

 

I believe that the best thing about living in Portsmouth, is that you get to know so many people and everybody has always been warm and welcoming.  And it’s good to be able to campaign to protect and enhance the best of the city, but also to play a part in our future, as part of the Portsmouth Society.    


Matt Dixon - Treasurer



Andrew Starr - IT Support

I joined the Executive Committee in 2021. In the city of Portsmouth, I also chair the Portsmouth European Cities Twinning Committee and am Lead Support for Shaping Portsmouth's Ambassadors programme. I am a primary school Chair of Governors and on the governing board of a secondary school. I also teach English at two asylum seekers' charities. I work at the University and City College, I also lead tours for Portsmouth City Council, while having a very small business for translation and interpreting... as I often use IT in my various jobs, I therefore can help the Executive Committee with most things IT related.


Sharon Howarth - Membership Secretary

I was born in Emsworth but have lived most of my life in Portsmouth along with family and friends.


I am interested in the history of the Dockyard and architecture of many of the buildings, such as the fortifications on top of Portsdown Hill and the houses and churches in Southsea and Old Portsmouth . 







Trish Bell - Tree Warden Liaison

Hello I’m Trish Bell - Tree Officer at the Portsmouth Society.


I am also the Portsmouth & Southsea Tree Warden Co-ordinator and Chief Executive of the Charles Dickens Community Orchards.


I admit it, I’m a tree hugger and want to see a greener city with cool shady streets in the summer months.

A city where people can freely forage from over 100 orchards planted in the seven years.


A city which benefits from providing fruit for humans and wildlife. I stand up for trees to stop our very valuable green assets from being chopped down.


Matt Hinks - Events Manager


Event organiser for the Portsmouth Society. I love living in the city and being near the sea I am also an ardent Pompey fan.












Pauline Powell - Committee Member

I was recruited to the Executive Committee in 2008 and I think because of my interest in The Porter’s Garden was offered and accepted the role of Tree Officer which I held until 2021 when Trish Bell took over the role together with that of co-coordinator of Portsmouth and Southsea Tree Wardens which I inaugurated in November 2010 ..





Avril Lewis - Committee Member

I have lived in Southsea for the majority of my life. Bringing up a family here has meant lots of walking, exploring and visiting all that this amazing place has to offer, and has given me the opportunity to learn much about our heritage.


My passion is for the built environment. Although a lot of our heritage was lost in WWII, there are still pockets of Georgian and Early Victorian buildings on Portsea Island, as well as a massive building programme of Victorian properties at the end of the C19.


With evolving development, I believe it is vital to consider how to integrate modern buildings within existing street scapes, so that buildings are not at odds with each other, or creating barriers between occupants, and to discourage piecemeal buildings which do not relate to their surroundings.

I became a member of the Portsmouth Society so as to play a part in protecting our heritage whilst encouraging good modern design that is representative of the City.


























61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Recent Events

To see our most recent events please click here

News Blog Archive

Here the archive from the most interesting past events held or attended by the Portsmouth Society members. This link will take you to the Portsmouth Society's News Blog for 2024 onwards Chronological

The Portsmouth Society Planning Committee

This blog is the landing page for all things to do with the Portsmouth Society Planning Committee. The Portsmouth Society's Planning Sub Committee meets regularly to monitor all individual planning ap

bottom of page